Holi!

A belated happy Holi to all! It’s this sort of thing that reminds me why I persevere in seeking along this path. It’s a reminder that while a lot of it is not easy, some parts are delightful (actually, if I’m honest with myself, the whole process is very positive if sometimes in retrospect).

Anyway, I couldn’t get people to play Holi with me on actual Holi, but I figured that the spirit was more important than being precise with the date (except that the full moon came and went, which is pretty important, I think). So yesterday, after spending several days camping with hundreds of other reenactors, I cajoled some friends into going to a park and playing Holi. It was great. I had purchased many packages of Holi colors and a couple of tall-sided thalis, and we rounded up all the squeeze-type water bottles we found.

I didn’t explain much in advance, except that we should wear clothes we didn’t value much. I piled up powder, smeared it on my husband’s face, and then we spent a blissful twenty minutes exhausting our gulal reserves.

I am so doing this again next year. Initially I was disappointed that I couldn’t participate in one of the local temple events, but like most holidays it’s the company that makes it memorable, and I couldn’t ask for better.

I can’t wait until next year!

(photos to come later. My Internet went out and I’m posting from my phone.)

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holi!

  1. Aamba says:

    Sounds awesome! Holi is totally my favorite holiday 🙂

Leave a Reply

