Little bit of dreaming.

I had a weird dream last night. I have weird dreams pretty much all the time, but this one seemed like it was either reassuring me, directing me, or something similarly comforting. Anyway, basically in the dream I had asked someone to recommend a guru, and they told me I should go see V___ (something like Vengaluru or Venkatesh) and that he had an ashram a couple of blocks from my house. So I went, and the ashram was in a converted residental building, which was nice, because it was all open on the inside. V was blue, and very kindly, and I sort of broke down talking to him. I felt this great sense of relief and peace, like I’d found something I was looking for for a very long time. I asked him who I should pray to, and he said Venkateshwara. I looked in the central courtyard, where devotees were arranged in a circle around a murti, praying and chanting bhajans, and saw that the murti was of Hanuman, kneeling next to Sri Rama. Sort of weird, because it’s not exactly Venkateshwara, but not too far off (Vishnu, Rama, etc). And then we ate together and I was a little sad to wake up.

I have no idea if this means anything at all, but it gave me a little bit of courage. I find that my rational mind kicks in when faced with this sort of thing. It goes, “oh, that doesn’t mean anything. Your brain is just dumping and cleaning out.” But then again, the Vedas and by extension the Upanishads talk about three states of awareness – the conscious, the subconscious, and the third state, which is dreamless sleep, when the Self is totally aware. I like to think that dreams like this are a middle place between the subconscious and deep sleep, when the Self gets little hints into my conscious mind and lets me know I’m on the right track. (Actually, mostly I think that I try to rationalize things a little too much, and these dreams are the Self telling me to relax and not overthink everything.)

Anyway, even if it was just a weird dream, it was a nice weird dream, and I like to think that it will give me a little extra courage the next time I attempt to convince myself to join an actual local Hindu community (so far no luck, but apparently my subconscious is as persistent as the rest of me).

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Little bit of dreaming.

  1. mouse says:

    I know what you mean about trying to rationalize dreams.. I used to be good at listening to whatever my sleeping mind had come up with but I find as I get older & more cynical I tend to write more of it off. I had a crazy guru dream a few months ago where I was given an overload of information while spending ‘days’ in the dream in service of a guru (I was the person responsible for tending to his food & tea) and with the other devotees. I was really bummed out when I woke up and realized that none of it was real. Sadly, I’m not anywhere near as close to Atlanta as you are and doubt there is anything close for me to go to.
    BTW.. I’m thinking of buying a new sari (still can’t find my others) and wearing it to a wedding this summer. Might need some wrapping help- its been a LONG time since I tried to do it!

    • HappyGoth says:

      Do let me know about the sari! I am glad to help, or at least point you in the right direction.

      You might want to do a search for temples nearby; I don’t go as often as I’d like mainly because I’m shy, but also because they’re all pretty far away (the closest non-ISKCON temple is in Riverdale; the ISKCON temple is closed at the moment for renovations).

      • mouse says:

        Google tells me that there is a temple in Suwanee.. which is really close to where I live. Have you been to Shirdi Sai Temple of Atlanta? I’m quite curious about it but I would sort of be afraid to go alone as I don’t know what to do- protocol wise.

      • HappyGoth says:

        I haven’t been to that one yet; it’s a Sai Baba temple and not one of the main ones I was looking into. Mostly it seems as though the best protocol is to ask somebody what to do, and explain that you’re there to learn. An open and understanding attitude can get you pretty far.

  2. Aamba says:

    I’m sure that we dream for a reason and I’m sure that dreams have meaning of some kind, but I’m not sure that the most obvious translation is always it.

    • HappyGoth says:

      I’m certain it isn’t! I am way too rational to take them at face value, but I like the sort of weird reassurance they give sometimes.

      The dreams in which I’m a werewolf or have superpowers can’t be interpreted literally, so this one probably shouldn’t, either. 😉

Leave a Reply

