AHA

(I sent myself an email with that subject line, too.)

In the “About Me” section, I received a comment asking about how I learned how to do what I’ve been practicing at home, and I responded that it was basically by osmosis, and that I’ve been adding things as I find them.

And then there was this other post I made about how sometimes it’s nice, coming from a “rules” background (I am so Rules Girl), to find a nice, clean set of how-tos every now and again.

This is what I’ve been searching for, all along:

Vedic Deity Worship

It’s a set of three fairly lengthy videos, filmed at a seminar at the Ramakrishnananda Institute for Vedic Studies, and it appears to be taught to a primarily Western audience. Ove the course of the videos, Indra Devi (a female pujari!) instructs her class on the philosophy and spirituality behind Hindu worship practice, the proper setup and supplies for both temple and home puja (plus some more specific words, which I’ve forgotten), how to perform a puja, mantras for each, and the specific manner and mantras to use to make a food offering. It clears up about eleventy billion unanswered questions I had swimming around. For the curious and confused, I’d recommend watching all three. There is also an extensive course in raja yoga, and one in mantra yoga. Any of these courses can be taken in person as well (the Institute is in Manhattan, which is far away for me, but I imagine somebody who reads this is closer!)

And you can also download a copy of the handouts for the videos. I feel like hugging somebody. Whew. I started out yesterday feeling kind of down, losing my focus, etc, but now I’m feeling better. (Also, I celebrated Rama Navami at home with my husband, in a beautiful, quiet sort of way, giving it all my best shot, and I think that was some much-needed focus and quiet. Hooray for not trying to force things.)

I think it was Tandava who said at one point that though one may not find a guru, or take a long while to find the right guru, there will be a number of good teachers along the way. I think that Sri Ramakrishnananda Babaji Maharaja is (for me) one of the more notable ones, and someone whose wisdom I appreciate.

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to AHA

  1. mouse says:

    The videos are going to be a huge help, thank you for posting the information… I’m just sorry that people assume that everyone can open a .docx file to get their lecture notes !!

  2. Maria Penaloza says:

    Ramakrishnananda Institute seems really incredible to study online. Thank you.

  3. Gopal says:

    Thank you for this wonderful post. I would like to update that the Ramakrishnananda Institute just went through a face lift, and it is now operating from a new and improved website:

    http://ramakrishnanandainstitute.com

    In addition to all the video lectures, you can find more text resources and articles trying to explain further the philosophy of Swami Ramakrishnananda.

    Hari Om!

    • HappyGoth says:

      Oh, great! The website was a great resource before; I’m sure it’s even better now [EDIT: I went and browsed through it, and there’s definitely a lot of great new stuff I haven’t seen before; this will take up a bit of my time, I’m sure!]. Thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

