More different aha

Perhaps a bigger one, though.

I’ve been doing all this obsessing over the “right” thing to do – the “right” way to pray, the “right” way to do a puja, the “right things to say – basically the “right” way to honor God.

And really? It’s all details. Last night I went out to eat with some friends and had half of my food boxed up to take home. It wasn’t much – a half a sandwich and a potato spear. I think I had meant to eat it for lunch or something later on, but mostly I was attempting not to waste it. As I was stopped at a light, I noticed a man holding a sign that said, “Hungry. Please Help.” He looked sad and worn, but to be about my age. So I reached  into the back and grabbed the food and handed it to him through my open window.

And then I had the thought that we honor God in the most profound way when we honor each other, especially those human beings we’ve never met, the people from whom we stand to gain nothing material. It’s something that transcends a single belief system, because it’s the only thing that’s “right.” You don’t do it because somebody tells you it’s right, you do it because you know, deep down, that it’s the right thing to do.

And that’s pretty cool.

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More different aha

  1. surya says:

    god will be very pleased with that one kind /daya gesture, puja or not. Good Job !!
    on a side note, in order to break the ice to make friends and all with fellow hindus, start something like free knitting class. Just see the response, you can talk to some female devotees about the venue/ timings etc. Things will move faster in the realm of community circle for you and soon you will be greeted with more friendly faces. Yes you cann do it!!!!

    • HappyGoth says:

      What a good idea! A knitting class! I may know at least one person who could help me organize something like that. Thanks!

      I have felt such an easy peace after last night. Before I started on the path to Sanatana Dharma but after I stopped attending church services, there was an in-between time when I had this sort of intuitive sense of what to do. Focusing on doing things the “right” way, as far as Hindu practice is concerned (and by practice I mean puja, etc) had obscured that natural sense of right action, and I think I’m finding it again. It’s a very nice realization.

  2. surya says:

    Also H,thaks for letting us comment without requirement of registering, i feel its too demanding on the part of blog owners to make me register eachtime i desire to comment, thats the reason i dont comment on those blogs, please try not to change your comment policy and keep it user friendly just the way it is. Im lazy !!

    • HappyGoth says:

      You’re welcome! I don’t feel like people need a blog to be able to share their thoughts with somebody else. I do reserve the right to approve first-time commenters, but you’re pretty set once you’ve been approved once. It got to be a lot of work to approve each and every comment from every person.

      I appreciate your comments, though. They’re always so thoughtful and encouraging. Thanks for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

