Community

I had the good fortune to be able to meet up with Aamba this past weekend at a fiber festival. She’s the first person I’ve met having only ever known her online (that is, not having known mutual acquaintances first), and she’s just as I expected, which is to say very easy to get along with and generally awesome (she likes board games! and Doctor Who! that is so cool!). I hope that her friend was not too offended that I sort of monopolized her attention for a half hour.

Sadly, although I did manage to document every single moment of that day photographically, I think I was so excited to meet her that I completely forgot I had a camera, even though it hung conspicuously around my neck the entire time. I suppose that’s not important. At any rate, she was awesome, we wandered around looking at yarn, and I think there are plans to meet up again sometime in the future.

I’ve been surprisingly chill since then. Before, it really really bothered me that I didn’t have a community of folks to share this with. Mostly, it was angst about temples and whatnot. However, I realized that there is a community i’m part of, even if it’s virtual, and that there’s somebody out there that I know who really does get what it means to be a person not born a Hindu practicing Hinduism, and also keeping all of her own personal tastes and quirks and everything that makes her the unique person that she is.

That applies to Aamba and to Kodanda and Tandava and Art and Mouse and all the other folks out there who are part of this community. And then, by extension, all Hindus of whatever background who engage in conversation with people via any one of the blogs in this network (I can think of a couple of notable folks on this very blog, Surya for one).

You’re a great community. I’m glad I’m now able to recognize that.

(I’m still working on that local community angst thing, though.)

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Community

  1. I think we’ve got an interesting little community here. And it seems to be slowly growing. Who knows what the future holds for us?

    I’ve managed to almost entirely let go of my anxiety about a real, local Hindu community by diving into the eternal community of saints and sages and great devotees. From Eknath Easwaran and Swami Ramdas to Sri Ramakrishna and Swami Vivekananda, my communion with great Hindu authors has made me feel a part of something that transcends space and time.

    But more than that, I’ve concentrated on my spiritual practice, and on loving Sri Krishna with all my heart and asking him everyday to give me more love for him. There is no greater satsang to be had.

  2. HappyGoth says:

    I will eventually move past my anxiety about local community, either because I’ve ceased to find it as important or because I’ve joined a local community. Either way, I’ve discovered that the best plan for me at the moment is to let it go, because obsessing over it is stressing me out, and that’s counter to spiritual productivity.

    I, too, have immersed myself in the writings of great sages and thinkers, devotees of the faith I have come to realize has always been very natural to me. And I think that I’m beginning to realize that no matter who else is involved, it will always be very natural to me. Like you said – it transcends space and time.

    I will have to remember to look back on your advice when I’m especially frustrated, and know that there are a bunch of folks out there and things happen in their own time.

  3. Tāṇḍava says:

    Namashkar,
    Welcome back, it must have been great visiting another blogger. I too value the little community we have.
    Tandava

    • HappyGoth says:

      I recommend meeting other bloggers, if you can. It’s nice to put a face and the sound of a person’s voice to what they write.

      Thanks for being one of the big organizer/promoter/cheerleader folks for this little online community. I can’t speak for everyone else, but I certainly appreciate the effort.

Leave a Reply

