Devotional music

I’m a reluctant tech junkie. I waited a very long time to purchase an iPhone, but it has turned out to be kind of great.

Forget all the games and fluff apps for a minute, though. My current favorite app (aside from the one that helps me keep track of my finances; Jai Lakshmi) is the Desi Music app. Here is why it is so nifty:

1. FREE

2. Full of loads of current Bollywood tunes, plus ghazals and oldies and all kinds of music that is hard to find on Pandora.

3. On both iOS and Android platforms.

4. (The reason this is getting posted here) An extensive library of devotional music.

That last one was a surprise find from this week. I was noodling around, looking for something to listen to, and stumbled across it totally by accident, after having used the app for over a year. Not all Hindu deities are available (obviously; that’s a lot of music), but the main/major ones are – Vishnu, Shiva, Krishna, Ganesha, Rama, Durga, Hanuman, Lakshmi,  – as well as channels for Jain, Sikh, Saibaba, Swaminarayan and Muslim music.

I am relieved to have something accessible for Hindu devotional music. I am very fond of it, but never knew where to find it, and found myself recycling the same 6 YouTube videos over and over again. This is near-endless variety! I find new favorites every day.

Totally worth the 10 minutes of bandwidth I spent downloading it.

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Devotional music

  1. mouse says:

    Thanks for the link! I downloaded it but haven’t played with it yet. I also have a Gita app & have tried a few other Hindu related apps- most have been deleted b/c of not being used. My phone has terrible battery life so I have to watch what apps I use.

  2. ela says:

    Have you tried Anoop Jalota’s bhajans?

Leave a Reply

