Letter to the people of the world

Dear People of the World,

Over the course of your history, you’ve managed to build great things, do great things, go amazing places, discover wonderful secrets. You’ve created things of beauty. You’ve travelled to the nearest heavenly body. You’ve created the Taj Mahal, the Pyramids, the Parthenon, the Gherkin, the Empire State Building, jumbo jets, Disney World, the Grand Mosque in Istanbul, the Forbidden City, Angkor Wat, the mountain churches in Ethiopia, their ceilings painted with stars. You’ve charted those stars. You’ve learned their secrets, and learned ours. You’ve seen the small particles that make up everything on this planet, and you’ve discovered the order in the cosmos. You’ve created vehicles that travel faster than any animal can run, you’ve engineered many breeds of dogs, you’ve opened information to the world at lightning speed. You’ve developed thousands of languages. You’ve created music that begins to sound like the voice of God. You’ve seen into the earth itself.

You’re pretty amazing.

So when I ask you to look past our individual differences and see how we’re all the same soul, I know you can do that. When I ask you to look past a person’s religion and see their true Self, I know you can do that. And I ask that now. Don’t use religion to divide yourselves from each other. Each religion teaches us how to do those amazing things we’ve done in the past – it teaches us how to live in peace with our fellow human beings. It is a guide for our sustained collective existence.

When you think of hating someone because they don’t believe the same things you believe, or discriminate against someone because they don’t love who you think they should love or aren’t the same color as you, remember that individually and divisively we couldn’t have achieved all the great things we have achieved as a society. Teach peace and tolerance, collaboration and sharing.

I believe in you.

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letter to the people of the world

  1. Arti says:

    Very thought provoking post… Man has achieved most things today and is rapidly making progress but has lost all ideals and qualities that make him a Human Being.
    Have a nice day:-)

    • HappyGoth says:

      There’s hope, though, if we can each be examples of what we know others can be!

      I am enjoying reading your blog, and look forward to each installment in your yatra diary. Thanks so much for reading mine, too!

  2. shivayatra7 says:

    Namaste,
    I just found your blog through Western Hindu. I myself am also a Western Hindu (I practice Saivism specifically). I’m going through your older posts and loving them! It is awesome to be able to read about other Westerners experience with Hinduism, and I’m looking to associate more with not just Indian Hindus but Western Hindus as well, so I’ll be following your blog as well as others. I just started a blog of my own: http://shivayatra.wordpress.com/
    There are only 2 posts so far but please tell me what you think and follow if you feel inclined ๐Ÿ™‚
    Also, I love this entry as well. I was very happy to see that NY passed marriage equality for same-sex couples last night. We are all one family– Hindu, Christian, Muslim, gay, straight, Latino, Caucasian, Asian, whatever these differences may be, we are all called to treat each other with kindness, love, and respect.
    –Ricky

    • HappyGoth says:

      Hi! Welcome to the blog-o-sphere (I always feel like that word sounds like “thunderdome”)! I am happy that you’ve been enjoying this blog so far; I write for me mostly, and it’s nice to hear that others find value in what I post. You’ve probably noticed by now that there’s a slowly growing community of Western Hindu bloggers out there, and I’m happy that you’ve decided to join in!

      (Hooray for NY! I didn’t know that it had actually passed! Woo!)

      Namaste

      • shivayatra7 says:

        Yes, it passed! I was very happy, given that NY is only 2 hours away from me, so when I eventually get asked the big question… ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I have been looking at everyone’s blogs and it’s really awesome to see so many different perspectives. I look forward to meeting new people and learning from everyone!

Leave a Reply

