Two weeks!

Oops. I do have a blog, don’t I?

Life has been busy. I have actually been much more diligent in my home spiritual practice lately, but not at all diligent in the blog. Honestly, the blog becomes a creative outlet when I need one and work has been very busy lately, so I haven’t been blogging.

I did think about going to the temple this weekend (more than usual). I hope this means I’m getting closer to being comfortable with going (even by myself). I had made up my mind to go to the local Hare Krishna temple, but was caught in a sudden and rather torrential rainstorm and went home instead after a long and quite stressful car ride. I joked with my husband that it appears that I’m not yet ready to visit that particular temple; I’ve made plans to do so twice and both times was wholly unsuccessful (the first time was with a friend, and the temple was closed for an undisclosed amount of time). Perhaps I will try going for Janmashtami (seems appropriate, no?).

Part of the struggle I think I’m having is that while I feel somewhat comfortable praying to any form of God, I really feel the strongest connection to Rama, and am not close to a temple that houses his murti (aside from the BAPS mandir, but I feel bad praying only to Rama and not to Sri Swaminarayan). When I think about it, it seems silly. Why should a little detail like that matter? But I think it’s also about that relationship. If I feel comfortable talking to a certain person about something, then I won’t be as ready to talk to someone else. I just don’t have the same relationship with everybody. I’m working on cultivating new relationships. It’s a long process, though.

Maybe I’m overthinking it. Maybe not. For the time being I’m mostly content to pray at home, and will venture out to a temple when the time is right.

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two weeks!

  1. shivayatra7 says:

    As I told a friend who is going through a similar experience to yours, I think waiting is a good option. Although temple worship is really important, it has to come from your heart, just like any other form of worship. Really, your home shrine is an extension of the temple, so if your home practice is getting stronger, that’s definitely a good thing, and if you wait, going to the temple might take on some more meaning for you than usual.

    Also, if I may make a suggestion, if you feel connected to Sri Rama in particular, perhaps you could pray to Lord Hanuman if you don’t already do so. Since He is the eternal and loving servant of Sri Rama, I’m sure if you ask Him for some guidance, He will bless you. 🙂

    Blessings
    Ricky

    • HappyGoth says:

      Maybe I will try to pray to Lord Hanuman more regularly. I must admit, he often gets forgotten, even though he’s in my car and present in the Ram Darbar that occupies the space of honor in my home shrine. I’m willing to try new things! But yes, that makes a lot of sense.

      Hopefully this home-based devotion will grow into something more involved, community-wise. I’m finding myself getting very excited for festival season this year, which has been a very welcome surprise!

      • shivayatra7 says:

        One step that I would recommend in getting to know Lord Hanuman is listening to and reciting the Hanuman Chalisa regularly. It is a very beautiful prayer that I say often, to invoke Hanumanji’s protection as well as to ask Him to fill me with the spirit of devotion. I also pray to Him since many consider Him to be an avatar of Lord Shiva. But yes I think Hanumanji will help you a lot. As it says in the Chalisa, “Tumhare bhajan Ram ko pavai;
        Janam janam ke dukh bisravai”, “Through praying to you (Hanuman), one finds Lord Rama and is freed from the suffering of many lives.”

        I’m excited for the festival season as well! Ganesh Chaturthi is coming up, then Navaratri after that, then Diwali and Pancha Ganapati… One thing I love about being a Hindu is that there is always something to celebrate with a festival 🙂

        Ricky

  2. Kodanda says:

    I’m sending you an Email

Leave a Reply

