Lady’s things

(Bonus points if you got that reference; if not, go watch some Little Britain.)

I have mentioned this Tumblr before, but it stands mentioning again, as it is full of the most lovely inspiration ever, several times a day. The young lady who writes it is a fabulous role model in many ways, not the least of which is an example of a deeply devoted Hindu and a genuinely beautiful individual.

Anyway, there are a few things that are new to me in Hinduism, coming as a woman from a fairly liberal Western tradition. I totally understand that loads of these things are cultural, regional even, but one has been an intermittent source of confusion.

I’m not going to go into it too deeply, as it is a sensitive subject for a lot of people, but I think Vani did a fabulous job of explaining her reasoning:

Vani the Singh

(I’m being purposefully obtuse about this, yes.)

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lady’s things

  1. Ambaa says:

    Absolutely agree with her!
    Love this:
    ” Why? Why shouldn’t I or other girls worship if we’re on our period? Oh, right…because we’re “unclean”. Yes, I’m sure God scorns us when we’re going through a necessary biological process, which we have no control over whatsoever. It’s not like He Himself created us this way to begin with, so that we’re able to bear children later on. No. Never that.”

    I feel that it is no one else’s business when I am on my period and whether or not I worship at that time is between me and God.

    • HappyGoth says:

      Haha! I almost emailed you this link, besides, but then posted it because I figured others might also get something beneficial from it!

      I have shed the guilt I felt about worshipping during my period (I’m really really good at guilt, by the way). I’m not going to go around broadcasting it, but I’m not going to let it become an impediment to bhakti any more!

  2. surya says:

    as the title says, it isa ladies thing. Nothing to do with men whatsoever. Those men who talk about these matters are dumb and have no clue about brahman.

    • HappyGoth says:

      Oddly enough, I hear this from women just about as often as from men. It doesn’t make much sense, but there you have it. I have decided not to let it dictate what I do, since my relationship with Brahman is my own business.

  3. SS says:

    The same applies to men/women with fresh cuts on the body as far as I know. So it is generally about blood not so much as to where it is coming from.

Leave a Reply

