Weird dreams

I had another strange dream last night about meeting a guru. I woke up with a peaceful feeling, which was a nice side effect. In the dream, he told me “you will be fine. You will be a great sannyasi.” I have no idea where my brain dredged that word up from, but obviously I’m retaining some of what I’m learning somewhere (I do know what a sannyasi is, but I don’t think I could’ve recalled that word if asked while conscious without looking it up). It’s funny how it all manifests itself. Also obviously (or maybe not), I don’t anticipate actually doing that (at least not in this lifetime), but bizarre dream reassurances are occasionally welcome.

Of course, just after that the guru brought me the most massive chocolate filled maple glazed donut ever seen (seriously, it was the size of my head), so I’m taking this for its calming effect and not for any signs of future progress.

I am kind of hungry for a donut.

Well, anyway, this is more of a segue into sharing a general feeling of peace I’ve had lately, as Navratri comes closer. As with the dream, I don’t associate that peace with the holiday specifically, but I do appreciate a new-ish knowledge that I’m okay, no matter who approves of my choices (or doesn’t approve).

This post also (generally) marks the point at which I decided to follow Sanatana Dharma, and move on from what I’d been raised with. I had a friend who was going to be given a sort of honor in a group I participate in, and she appreciates ritual, so I thought that she’d be the best person to test my newfound faith on. I bought some puja items, found a prayer to Vishnu (I forget which one), and in a bumbling, inexpert way did my best to ask for his blessings on her new journey. It was awkward, but kind of beautiful. Actually, that sums up this entire year for me, and is what keeps me moving forward on this path. It may be awkward initially, but the beauty and wisdom is worth that initial discomfort.

Here’s to the next year (and all the festivals ahead)!

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weird dreams

  1. kodanda says:

    “chocolate filled maple glazed donut” mmmmmmmm I want your Guru!

    Anyway glad to see my favourite Lego Snail making progress, and don’t forget I sent you a complete and simple Sri Rama Puja.

    J

    • HappyGoth says:

      Best. Guru. Ever. Still craving donut. In retrospect, not the best guru ever.

      I did not forget about the puja! Okay, maybe I did just a little. But it’s saved in my emails and I will unearth it at an opportune moment. Probably soon!

      And from now on, I think that the only official joke name anybody gets to call me is the Lego Snail. That’s brilliant.

      • kodanda says:

        Well everytime I get an email from you I read it as Lego Snail, so in my mind you will always be Lego Snail. If we FINALLY meet, I’ll prolly call you Lego šŸ˜›

      • HappyGoth says:

        I think that’s a legitimate reaction. šŸ˜‰

        I have another friend who shouts at me, “LEGO! SCHNELL!” every time she sees me, so I wouldn’t be all that surprised.

  2. kodanda says:

    Well I had a nickname for awhile: There were a few jason’s in our group and I and another were the staples. Since his surname was wallace they started calling me Gromit.

Leave a Reply

