WINNING

[Note: This should have been posted before the Diwali post, but somehow it got lost in the ether. Here you go! New post! Entirely not timely! Fun to read anyway!]

Sorry for that unsolicited Charlie Sheen reference. I admit that I never actually saw the interview, but find a perverse joy in saying that loudly, ironically, and pointing at myself while doing so. I’m a little strange.

Anyway, the sentiment is totally appropriate, because this week I did two new things! And I’m very proud of them!

Thing 1:

Made boondi laddu. Okay, tried to make boondi laddu. I found a recipe for it that included things I had at home already (yes, I keep gram flour on hand, for when I’m craving something fried and crispy but want good protein at the same time). I used mango bits instead of raisins, but that doesn’t seem to be a problem.

I mixed up the batter, set some ghee to bubbling in a pan, and fried up the boondis. They were a little odd-shaped, since I don’t actually have a boondi-maker. I used a slotted spoon instead. Except for the small mounds of batter that inevitably formed in the center of the pan, the boondi fried up nice and lovely, and I ended up with a big mound of the golden crunchy stuff:

Then came the I-am-impatient-with-boiling-liquids time, in which I attempted to make a single thread sugar syrup but didn’t. This meant that while it tasted lovely, the sugar syrup didn’t hold the laddu together. I also roasted the ground cardamom. Oops. In the end, I have several plastic-wrapped “laddus”, which are really more like bizarre non-marshmallow rice krispy treats. They taste like laddus! They just don’t feel like laddus.

Oh, well.

Thing 2:

Because I am a little stubborn, I took the laddus to a friend, who just happens to be the sort of person who knows what a laddu tastes like (and looks like and holds together like). He didn’t seem to mind. He even gave me some advice! And then invited me to no less than three outings to temple festivities this week for Diwali, so I’m feeling proud of myself and really really excited.

I’ll be happy if only one of those things happens! It’s more than I do on my own, so yay.

The biggest part is that this friend was still in my “acquaintance” folder in my brain, and therefore somebody I was very nervous about interacting with by myself, without the introducing friend present. Problem is, I had all those laddus I made to give to him, but introducing friend is in grad school, and not available for a lunch trip. Not to be discouraged, I silenced my inner worrywart and went by myself. In the end, it was a lovely visit and I came out of the deal a samosa and two stuffed grape leaves richer (or fuller, whichever).

As for Diwali celebrations, I did buy some little lamps and a rangoli kit (I know, I know, but I’m so not good at this yet and it came with several color options), and so the house will be festive, at the very least. Lakshmi and Ganesha have been given a little place of honor, and a friend came over and helped me string lights up on the outside of the house. I’ll try to post photos once I’m done with the rangoli and then when all the lamps are lit.

I think I may be more excited about it this year than last year, no matter what I end up doing. Yay!

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

