Applies to me, too, I guess.

Several months back, a fellow blogger, Aamba, whose blog I looked forward to announced that she was going to retire her blog from regular posting, as she had accomplished all she had intended to accomplish with it.

At the time, I was a little disappointed, because, well, I selfishly felt that something would be missing from my day/week/routine. At the same time, my ego got the best of me, and declared, quite proudly, that I was never going to slack in my three-posts-a-week blogging schedule (I declared this to the cats, who as we all know are excellent at keeping people to task).

And here we are. When did I last post? Two weeks ago? Diwali? Yeah… It appears as though the ignored wisdom of my fellow blogger has finally shown itself to me, as I focus more and more on internalizing the things I have learned so far and less on trying to articulate them to the outside world.

Know that even if my posts are infrequent, they will keep coming because one of the things that has kept me going through all the fits and starts of this new path is knowing that a bunch of really great people are out there.

In the meantime, before I find that next blog inspiration, here’s what inspires me at the moment:

I keep finding this guy and then losing his YouTube channel, and then finding it again. So lovely. (Sorry if I’ve posted it before, but I keep wanting to share it with people.)

About HappyGoth

By day, I'm a graphic designer. By night, I'm a knitter. I'm doing my part to keep Hotlanta stylish. I imagine that if you don't already understand the title of the blog, you're probably confused and perhaps slightly annoyed, but never fear - I do have a reason (and it's a good one). Having gone to hear Stephanie Pearl McPhee, and then having been inspired to blog about knitting, I found myself wondering what to call the blog. I recalled a conversation I had with Mouse and the Chicken Goddess about why it is a Bad Idea to anger knitters - this conversation was following SPM, aka the Yarn Harlot telling the assembled throng about Those Who Do Not Understand Knitting and Therefore Belittle It Much to the Chagrin of Others, or TWDNUKTBMCO, which is not the acronym she used but is the one I'm using because I forgot hers - that is, we are numerous and we all have very pointy sticks, easily transforming into an angry mob. Therefore, knitters = angry mob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Applies to me, too, I guess.

  1. Tāṇḍava says:

    Namashkar,
    I realised a while ago that my posting was irregular at times. I have a blogging without obligation badge in my sidebar, to let people know that I only post when I have time and have something to say. I look forward to reading your posts when you do have something to blog about.
    Aum

    • HappyGoth says:

      🙂 Thanks for the support!

      I may have to post that badge here, as a note to folks about my frequency of updates.

      If only I could blog as frequently as I Tweet…

  2. T.A.H. says:

    I echo Tandava — blog without obligation, or else it will become a chore. Looking forward to reading more when you’re ready.

    Namaste.

    • HappyGoth says:

      I’m trying hard not to let it become a chore. So far, I only feel guilty if it’s been more than two weeks since I blogged, but that’s more because i’m good at feeling guilty. It’s been getting easier to let it go, though.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. kodanda says:

    We are all slackers ;D I still need to respond to Tandava on my blog ;P

Leave a Reply

